I Went Home

And by that I mean I went to The Wizarding World of Harry Potter over at Universal Studios Hollywood. If you hadn’t already guessed from My Top 5 Favorite Books Of All Time post, I am a huge Harry Potter fan. I live and breath these stories, so going to The Wizarding World of Harry Potter was something I wanted to do since I heard they were building it. When Danny and I got married last year, we had planned on going to Universal Orlando for our honeymoon solely so we could visit the Wizarding World, but our finances just didn’t allow for that. Later we heard they were building one at Universal Studios Hollywood, so of course we had to go. They opened it in April, but we waited till our wedding anniversary to go.

DSC00075
The most beautiful place in all the land!

I was not disappointed one bit, it seriously looked exactly like it did in the film.  I felt like I was right in the Harry Potter universe! My only disappointment (which was super tiny) was that they didn’t build Gringotts as they did in Universal Orlando, with the super awesome fire breathing dragon, and the fact that you can’t ride the train! But everything else was pure magic. The shops were heaven and the Harry Potter and the Forbidden Journey ride was so freaking awesome. I will not lie, I shed tiny tears of joy when I first rode it because I literally felt like I was in Hogwarts, plus Harry was talking to me and it was just amazing all around. The ride itself is a tiny bit scary (I’m not a fan of roller coasters or drops) but this one was just so magical that I didn’t even mind the couple small drops (that made my stomach clench) so much. The other ride,  The Flight of the Hippogriff, though described as family friendly was actually a bit scary for me (I am indeed a chicken though so don’t take my word for it). I did enjoy it, but it wasn’t worth getting on again. The ride was only what felt like 30 seconds long.

DSC00103

DSC00105DSC00104We had breakfast and lunch at the Three Broomsticks. It was really beautiful inside.  All the furniture and the atmosphere just felt so magical. I tried both the Butterbeer and pumpkin juice. They were both very sweet, so if you don’t have a sweet tooth (like danny) you might not enjoy it as much. My favorite was definitely the Butterbeer.

DSC00110
The ceiling of The Three Broomsticks ^_^
DSC00109
*^o^*
DSC00095
Proud Ravenclaw

DSC00082

DSC00080

Since The Wizarding World part isn’t that big, we set out and explored the rest of the park. I have only been once before, so it was fun going on the rides and seeing the shows. Water World is a really fun show to watch, but sit all the way at the top if you don’t want to get soaked! I “bravely” endured Jurassic Park for Danny, it’s a fun ride, but that drop though! There was a tiny little girl sitting next to me though so I couldn’t be a chicken about it. But as the evening started to approach, we made our way back to Hogwarts. We visited Ollivanders where a person is selected to receive a wand. As Danny and I stay close to the walls in crowded spaces, neither of us was selected. But it was still fun to watch.  The shop was lined to the ceiling with wands.

DSC00135
Still getting the hang of my new camera, photo came out slightly blurry.

We missed the Frog Choir show, but made the Triwizard Spirit Rally. The girls from Beauxbatons were definitely my favorite.

DSC00155

The weather was a perfect 60 degrees with gray clouds and sun peeking in and out all day. It definitely helped set the tone.

DSC00079

DSC00083

My only purchases were Bertie Botts Every Flavor Beans, a Chocolate Frog, a few other sweets for my nieces and nephew, House enamel pins, and a postcard that got ruined in my backpack. Though I managed to save part of it by cutting away the crumpled wet(?) part.

DSC00146We also went into The Hogs Head for some drinks and got these cool mugs to take home. Danny got the Witches Brew and I had another Butterbeer.

DSC00078

We had such a magical, wonderful day, that we will surely be returning. I cannot wait to see it beautifully decorated for Christmas!

Have you been to The Wizarding World of Harry Potter in Universal Studios Hollywood? Orlando? How was your experience? Tell me about it in the comments, I would love to know.

Until next time, Jeannete x

Leave a Reply

